Delta Regional Authority


Created in December 2000, the Delta Regional Authority encourages the development of new jobs and basic improvements to enhance quality of life. The DRA’s formula for strengthening economies is to improve education, infrastructure, transportation and businesses with an emphasis on private enterprise. ADECA oversees the program in Alabama and works with local, state and regional agencies to implement program goals.

The DRA serves 252 counties and parishes in eight states, including 20 counties in Alabama. The Alabama counties in the DRA include Barbour, Bullock, Butler, Choctaw, Clarke, Conecuh, Dallas, Escambia, Greene, Hale, Lowndes, Macon, Marengo, Monroe, Perry, Pickens, Russell, Sumter, Washington and Wilcox.

Each of the member counties in Alabama has been defined as a “distressed county,” where the unemployment rate is greater than the national average, a substantial loss in population has occurred, a major industry or business has closed, or a major disaster or emergency has been experienced. At least 75 percent of the total funds allocated to the authority are invested in distressed counties and half of those funds must be earmarked for transportation and infrastructure improvements. Projects that have a regional impact receive special priority.

The DRA supports job creation and economic development through innovative approaches to growing local and regional leadership, increasing access to quality healthcare, and boosting opportunities for entrepreneurs to obtain affordable capital.

The grant applications are submitted to DRA directly, reviewed and recommended jointly by DRA and the State, awarded by DRA, and managed by the DRA staff.

The Local Development Districts (LDDs) are our local partners and are an active and essential part of the DRA partnership. There are six LDDs in Alabama’s Delta Region, and each LDD operates under a Board of Directors composed of elected representatives from the various local governments.



The States’ Economic Development Assistance Program Notice of Funding Availability was released on March 26, 2024. More information can be found below and on the DRA site at



U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) Workforce Opportunity for Rural Communities (WORC) Initiative

WORC grants awarded by DOL range in size from $150,000 to $1.5 million, will fund projects to provide career training and supportive services to workers who live or work in ARC, Delta Regional Authority (DRA), Northern Border Regional Commission (NBRC), regions to help them secure good-paying, stable jobs in high-demand occupations. WORC grants are intended to promote economic mobility; address historic inequities in marginalized communities, including people of color, people with disabilities, and other underrepresented communities; and produce high-quality employment outcomes enabling workers to remain and thrive in these communities.

Deadline: June 20, 2024

DOL Announcement Round 6 FOA

DRA’s role


Community Infrastructure Fund (CIF)

Approximately $30 million is available to address basic public infrastructure and transportation infrastructure, as well as flood-control issues for communities within DRA’s eight-state service area.

More information




Crystal G. Talley
Federal Initiatives and Recreation Division Chief
(334) 353-2630

Leslie M. Clark
Federal Initiatives and Recreation Unit Chief
(334) 353-2909