EXHIBIT VIII-6

ALABAMA REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS BOARD

P. O. Box 304355

Montgomery, Alabama 36130-4355

MANDATORY LICENSING OF REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS IN ALABAMA

It is mandatory that anyone who appraises property in the state of Alabama, be licensed by the Alabama Real Estate Appraisers Board, Code of Alabama, 1975 § 34-27a-3. There are five classifications of licensure (1) Trainee Real Property appraiser; (2) State Registered Real Property Appraiser (3) Licensed Real Property Appraiser; (4) Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser; (5) Certified General Real Property Appraiser.

Any valuation of real property for private or public purposes is deemed to be an appraisal of that property and, excluding those persons who are exempt pursuant to the Alabama Real Estate Appraisers Act, any person rendering such services shall conform to the Alabama Real Estate Appraisers Act.

REAL ESTATE APPRAISAL EXPERIENCE

Appraisals of property located in Alabama must be made in conformance with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice. Copies of the reports must be kept for five years and must be available for review by the Board. In order to meet the real estate appraisal experience requirement, the appraiser must have contributed significantly to the appraisal and the value conclusion of the report. A significant contribution to the value conclusion directly involves exercise of judgment in arriving at the analyses, opinion, or conclusions concerning real estate or real property set forth in the appraisal report.

The Code of Alabama, 1975, §34-27A-12 requires that “an original certificate for any classification as a licensed real estate appraiser shall not be issued to any person who does not possess the required experience, if any, in real property appraisal supported by adequate written reports, file memoranda, or other evidence satisfactory to the Board.”

Education cannot be substituted for experience. A person may have many years of experience in real estate, building, banking or many other associated professions, but unless he has had the required real estate appraisal experience, both in making the appraisal and reporting the appraisal, the Alabama Real Estate Appraisers Board cannot grant permission for that person to take an exam for any appraiser classification that requires real estate appraisal experience.

Appraisal experience obtained after August 1, 1994 will be considered for credit only for persons holding a license issued by the Alabama Real Estate Appraisers board or a license issued by an appraiser regulatory agency.

Credit for appraisal experience will only be granted for work that complies with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice and the Alabama Real Estate Appraisers Act. No appraisal experience credit will be granted unless the appraiser has been acknowledged within the appraisal report, as required by the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice.

Not more than 35% of required appraisal experience (up to 700 hours of the required 2000 hours) may be granted for “limited appraisal assignments” and restricted appraisal reports, as defined by the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice.

Persons wishing to become professional real property appraisers should contact our office for an application package and begin immediately to document his or her required real estate appraisal experience and other qualifications.

EDUCATION, EXAMINATION AND EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS
1.
The “Trainee Real Property Appraiser” – no experience or exam is required. This entry-level classification requires 75 classroom hours of Board-approved appraisal education during the last 10 years. Fifteen of the 75 hours must be in the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice completed during the last 24 months. Trainee’s appraisal experience must be under the direct supervision of a Licensed or Certified Real Property appraiser. If the Trainee plans to use these experience hours as part of the experience needed for licensure, the work must be included in the Trainee’s assignment log, and the appraisal report must be signed by the supervising appraiser.

2.
The “State Registered Real Property Appraiser” – applicant must have a minimum of 1000 hours appraisal experience during the last five years. Applicant must provide proof of 75 classroom hours of appraisal education completed during the last ten years, including fifteen hours of the uniform standards of Professional Appraisal Practice completed during the last 24 months.

3.
The “Licensed Real Property Appraiser” – classification became available June 1, 1994 and applies only to appraisers licensed or reclassified after that date. The appraiser is required to have completed, during the last 10 years, 75 classroom hours of Board-approved appraisal education, fifteen of which must be in the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice completed during the last 24 months. The applicant must have been an appraiser in two of the last five calendar years and have a minimum of 2000 hours of actual appraisal experience. applicant is required to pass a state examination for this classification.

4.
The “Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser” – classification requires 120 classroom hours of Board-approved appraisal education completed during the last 10 years. Fifteen of the 120 hours must be in the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice completed during the last 24 months. The applicant must have been an appraiser in two of the last five calendar years and have a minimum of 2000 hours of actual appraisal experience. Applicant is required to pass a state examination for this classification.

5.
The “Certified General Real Property Appraiser” – classification requires 165 classroom hours of Board-approved appraisal education completed during the last 10 years. Fifteen of the 165 hours must be in the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice completed during the last 24 months. The appraiser must have a minimum of 2000 hours actual appraisal experience. At least 1000 of the 2000 hours experience must be in non-residential appraisal work during past five years. Applicant is required to pass a state examination for this classification.
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FIVE CATEGORIES OF APPRAISERS IN ALABAMA
The Alabama Real Estate Appraisers Act ensures compliance with federal guidelines in the licensing and certifying of real estate appraisers in Alabama. It also provides for mandatory licensing of appraisers of any properties located in Alabama unless the employee (appraiser) is specifically exempt by the statue.

1.
Trainee Real Property Appraiser – This classification requires the trainee to work under the direct supervision of a certified or licensed real property appraiser. The scope of practice for the appraiser trainee classification is the appraisal of those properties which the supervising appraiser is permitted to appraise.

2.
State Registered Real Property Appraiser – This classification includes those individuals who may perform real estate appraisals on non-federally related properties (those properties which are the subject of appraisals for non-federally related transactions) including: (1) complex appraisals of 1 to 4 unit non-federally related residential properties having transaction value of $250,000 or less; other non-federally related non-residential properties having transaction value of $250,000 or less. (2) non-complex appraisals of 1 to 4 unit non-federally related residential properties having transaction value of $1,000,000 or less. (3) This classification does not include the appraisal of subdivisions wherein development analysis/appraisal is necessary and utilized.

3.
Licensed Real Property Appraiser – This classification includes those individuals who are licensed to perform real estate appraisals on properties involved in federally-related transactions including: (a) complex appraisals of 1 to 4 unit residential properties having transaction value of $250,000 or less; (b) non-complex appraisals of 1 to 4 unit residential properties having transaction value of $1,000,000 or less; (c0 appraisals of other types of real estate having transaction value of $250,000 or less. The Licensed Real Property Appraiser is authorized to give a “Certified Appraisal” on a federally-related transaction, in accordance with FIRREA requirements.

4.
Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser – This classification refers to those individuals licensed by the Board as being qualified to perform federally-related residential real estate appraisals on 1 to 4 unit residential properties without regard to the complexity or dollar amount. These appraisers are also permitted to appraise non-residential properties having a transaction value of $250,000 or less. The Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser is authorized to give a “certified appraisal” on a federally-related transaction in accordance with FIRREA requirements.

5.
Certified General Real Property Appraiser – This classification shall consist of those persons certified by the Board as qualified to perform appraisals on all types of real estate, regardless of complexity or transaction value. This classification allows the appraiser to give a “certified appraisal” on a federally-related transaction in accordance with FIRREA requirements.

EDUCATION, EXAMINATION AND EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS
1.
The “Trainee Real Property Appraiser” – no experience or exam is required. This entry-level classification requires 75 classroom hours of Board-approved appraisal education during the last 10 years. Fifteen of the 75 hours must be in the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice completed during the last 24 months. Trainee’s appraisal experience must be under the direct supervision of a Licensed or Certified Real Property appraiser. If the Trainee plans to use these experience hours as part of the experience needed for licensure, the work must be included in the Trainee’s assignment log, and the appraisal report must be signed by the supervising appraiser.

2.
The “State Registered Real Property Appraiser” – applicant must have a minimum of 1000 hours appraisal experience during the last five years. Applicant must provide proof of 75 classroom hours of appraisal education completed during the last ten years, including fifteen hours of the uniform standards of Professional Appraisal Practice completed during the last 24 months.

3.
The “Licensed Real Property Appraiser” – classification became available June 1, 1994 and applies only to appraisers licensed or reclassified after that date. The appraiser is required to have completed, during the last 10 years, 75 classroom hours of Board-approved appraisal education, fifteen of which must be in the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice completed during the last 24 months. The applicant must have been an appraiser in two of the last five calendar years and have a minimum of 2000 hours of actual appraisal experience. applicant is required to pass a state examination for this classification.

4.
The “Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser” – classification requires 120 classroom hours of Board-approved appraisal education completed during the last 10 years. Fifteen of the 120 hours must be in the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice completed during the last 24 months. The applicant must have been an appraiser in two of the last five calendar years and have a minimum of 2000 hours of actual appraisal experience. Applicant is required to pass a state examination for this classification.

5.
The “Certified General Real Property Appraiser” – classification requires 165 classroom hours of Board-approved appraisal education completed during the last 10 years. Fifteen of the 165 hours must be in the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice completed during the last 24 months. The appraiser must have a minimum of 2000 hours actual appraisal experience. At least 1000 of the 2000 hours experience must be in non-residential appraisal work during past five years. Applicant is required to pass a state examination for this classification.
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