Skip Navigation LinksADECA > Divisions > Community and Economic Development > Delta Regional Authority
Delta Regional Authority

Created in December 2000, the Delta Regional Authority encourages the development of new jobs and basic improvements to enhance quality of life. The DRA’s formula for strengthening economies is to improve education, infrastructure, transportation and businesses with an emphasis on private enterprise. ADECA oversees the program in Alabama and works with local, state and regional agencies to implement program goals.

The DRA serves 252 counties and parishes in eight states, including 20 counties in Alabama. The Alabama counties in the DRA include Barbour, Bullock, Butler, Choctaw, Clarke, Conecuh, Dallas, Escambia, Greene, Hale, Lowndes, Macon, Marengo, Monroe, Perry, Pickens, Russell, Sumter, Washington and Wilcox.

Each of the member counties in Alabama has been defined as a "distressed county," where the unemployment rate is greater than the national average, a substantial loss in population has occurred, a major industry or business has closed, or a major disaster or emergency has been experienced.  At least 75 percent of the total funds allocated to the authority are invested in distressed counties and half of those funds must be earmarked for transportation and infrastructure improvements. Projects that have a regional impact receive special priority.

The Local Development Districts (LDDs) are our local partners and are an active and essential part of the DRA partnership. There are six LDDs in Alabama’s Delta Region, and each LDD operates under a Board of Directors composed of elected representatives from the various local governments. 

The six LDDs are:

West Alabama Regional Commission

Counties: Greene, Hale, Pickens

South Central Alabama Development Commission

Counties: Bullock, Macon, Lowndes, Butler

Alabama-Tombigbee Regional Commission

Counties: Choctaw, Clarke, Conecuh, Dallas, Marengo, Monroe, Perry, Sumter, Washington, Wilcox

Southeast Alabama Regional Planning and Development Commission

County: Barbour

South Alabama Regional Planning Commission

County: Escambia

Lee-Russell Council of Governments

County: Russell

In addition to the overall focus of the Delta Regional Authority, short, middle and long-term goals have been developed for the Alabama counties with an emphasis being placed on creating jobs and eliminating poverty.

More information can be found on the DRA's website:

News and Events

Delta Summit 2021


Growing Small Businesses and Entrepreneurs

From the DRA website: "Most people believe that the key to economic recovery will come in the form of newly created jobs. Naturally, then, everyone is asking: where will the new jobs come from? This report looks closely at the establishment dynamics that have created and eliminated jobs in the last eighteen years in the 252 counties and parishes served by the Delta Regional Authority. This document will show results that underscore the importance of entrepreneurship and small business development in the region."

Click the image to read the report (PDF).



Crystal G. Talley
Alabama DRA Program Manager
(334) 353-2630

Cleandra Dixon
Alabama DRA Program Manager
(334) 353-2909


Copyright © 2020 ADECA - All Rights Reserved