ALABAMA WORKFORCE INVESTMENT SYSTEM

July 13, 2011

Office of Workforce Development
401 Adams Avenue
Post Office 5690
Montgomery, Alabama 36103-5690

GOVERNOR’S WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT DIRECTIVE NO. PY99-20, Change 18

SUBJECT:

1. Purpose.

2. Discussion.

3. Action.

4. Contact.

Statewide WIA Fiscal Procedures Manual

This Directive transmits revised pages for the July, 2000 edition of the
Governor’s Statewide WIA Fiscal Procedures Manual.

Effective July 1, 2011, the mileage rate paid to persons traveling in
privately owned vehicles on official business for the state increases to 55.5
cents per mile. A copy of the State Comptroller’s announcement is
attached for reference. This change necessitates a revision to the
Statewide WIA Fiscal Procedures Manual page V1II-5.

Please replace the existing page in the Statewide WIA Fiscal Procedures
Manual with the following revised page:

VIII-5 (Revised 07/11)

Any questions regarding this Directive should be referred to Bill Hornsby,
Supervisor, Workforce Development Division, State Programs and
Divisional Budget Management Section. (Telephone: (334) 242-5847 or
Email: bill.hornsby@adeca.alabama.gov).
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If the normal rate of the subrecipient is less than the above-stated per day rates and the WIA
agreement states a lesser rate, the lesser rate approved shall be used.

The term overnight, as used in Code of Alabama 1975, §36-7-20, as amended, means exactly
what the word implies. The common law meaning of night usually means the period
between sunset and sunrise. Another rule often applied is that night is defined as beginning
thirty minutes after sunset and ending thirty minutes before sunrise. Individuals whose work
hours are during the night period are in work status and are not entitled to overnight per
diem. Employees within reasonable travel distance from their base are expected to return to
base. Individual circumstance will determine what is reasonable but, generally, a trip of 100
miles or less one-way does not require an overnight stay. Exceptions to the policy may be
approved by the department director.

(5 Effective September 8, 2005, the per diem is $56.25 for each day after a person in travel
status has been stationed at the same place for two consecutive months.

(6) Effective October 1, 1999, the mileage rate is the amount allowed by the Internal Revenue
Code for income tax deductions. As of July 1, 2011, the rate allowed by the Internal
Revenue Code for business mileage is 55.5 cents per mile. If the normal rate of a contractor
is less than the allowable rate and the contract states a lesser rate, the lesser approved rate
shall be used.

(7)  Claims for travel expense must be documented by reports containing the destination, date
and time of departure and return, and a computation of the amount of reimbursement. The
reports must be signed and dated by both the traveler and the person authorizing the travel.
Copies of the travel reports must accompany the invoices under which the travel expense is
claimed.

b. Out-of-State

Prior written approval from the Grantor is required for all out-of-state travel. Such approval
must be requested by the subrecipient at least 10 days prior to the planned travel, by
contacting the appropriate WIA agreement manager. Out-of-state travel expense for room
and meals shall be reimbursed at actual costs, when such costs reflect reasonable rates. Room
accommodations should be in the employee’s own name and any charges for missed
reservations shall be considered a personal expense. Air travel is booked for tourist class. If
first class is booked, proof of non-availability of tourist must be provided. A sample out-of
state travel reimbursement form is provided as a guide (see Exhibit K). This form or a similar
form should be used when requesting out-of-state travel reimbursement.

Receipts are required to be submitted with travel reimbursement claims to be maintained as
support documentation for the Subrecipient’s Invoice Report for all transportation, meal, and
hotel/motel lodging charges. These receipts must be from the establishment/transportation
company. Copies of credit charges cannot be accepted as support documentation. The
amounts paid as tips for food service, the transfer of baggage,
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Department of Finance
Office of the State Comptroller

100 North Union Street, Suite 220
Montgomery, Alabama 36130-2620
Telephone (334) 242-7050 Fax (334) 242-7466
www.complroller.alabama.gov

Robert Bentley Thomas L.. White, Jr.
Govemor ) State Comptrotler
_David A. [’cny Janice A. Hamm
Director of Finance Deputy State Comptroller
June 24, 2011
MEMORANDUM
TO: All State Agencies

Chief Fiscal Officer

FROM: Thomas L. White,
State Comptroller

TCPA (Inactive)

SUBJECT: Travel — Mileage Rate

Effective July 1, 2011, the mileage rate paid to persons traveling in privately owned
vehicles on official business for the state will increase to 55.5 cents per mile. The mileage rate,
which is paid in lieu of actual expenses for transportation, is in accordance with Code of
Alabama 1975, §36-7-22, as amended, which became effective October 1, 1999. This code
section sets the mileage rate at the amount allowed by the Internal Revenue Code for income tax
deductions. Therefore, mileage reimbursement for travel on or after July 1, 2011 will be
calculated at the new rate of 55.5 cents per mile.

When calculating the amount to be reimbursed, all mileage listed on an expense account
must be totaled and then multiplied by 55.5 cents (Example: 111 miles X .555 = $61.61).
Should you have any questions concerning this matter, please contact Kathleen Baxter at (334)
242-4857 or Jeanne Kennedy at (334) 242-7061.
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