ALABAMA WORKFORCE INVESTMENT SYSTEM

Office of Workforce Development
401 Adams Avenue
Post Office 5690
Montgomery, Alabama 36103-5690

GOVERNOR’S WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT DIRECTIVE NO. PY99-20, Change 15

SUBJECT:

1. Purpose.

2. Discussion.

3. Action,

Statewide WIA Fiscal Procedures Manual

This Directive transmits revised pages for the July, 2000 edition of the
Governor’s Statewide WIA Fiscal Procedures Manual,

Effective January 1, 2010, the mileage rate paid to persons traveling in
privately owned vehicles on official business for the state decreases to
50.0 cents per mile. A copy of the State Comptroller’s announcement is
attached for reference. This change necessitates a revision to the
Statewide WIA Fiscal Procedures Manual page VIII-5.

Page III-20 is also being revised to reference the most current revision of
the WIA Status of Funds Report and Cash Request Form (WDD-32 Rev
11/08). The revised WDD-32 Form was issued via Change 14 to GWDD
Number PY99-20.

On November 2, 2009, the USDOL approved the transfer of up to 50
percent of the Adult and Dislocated Worker allocations between those two
funding streams. Since they did not approve our request of 100 percent
transfer authority, it’s necessary to revise the appropriate section of the
Statewide WIA Fiscal Procedures Manual. Also the policy for American
Recovery and Reinvestment Act (WIA Stimulus Funds) transfers between
Adults and Dislocated Workers has been included in the revision.

Please replace the existing pages in the Statewide WIA Fiscal Procedures
Manual with the following revised pages:

1I-18 (Revised 11/09)
1I1-20 (Revised 11/08)
VIII-5 (Revised 01/10)
4. Contact. Any questions regarding this Directive should be referred to Bill Hornsby,
Supervisor, Workforce Development Division, State Programs and
Divisional Budget Management Section. (Telephone: (334) 242-5847 or
Email: bill.hornsby(@adeca.alabama.gov).
Jra A ( /s /s
Matthew Hughes, Di{re::toQ Date / '
Office of Workforce DevelSpment
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If the normal rate of the subrecipient is less than the above-stated per day rates and the
WIA agreement states a lesser rate, the lesser rate approved shall be used.

The term overnight, as used in Code of Alabama 1975, §36-7-20, as amended, means
exactly what the word implies. The common law meaning of night usually means the
period between sunset and sunrise. Another rule often applied is that night is defined as
beginning thirty minutes after sunset and ending thirty minutes before sunrise. Individuals
whose work hours are during the night period are in work status and are not entitled to
overnight per diem. Employees within reasonable travel distance from their base are
expected to return to base. Individual circumstance will determine what is reasonable but,
generally, a trip of 100 miles or less one-way does not require an overnight stay.
Exceptions to the policy may be approved by the department director.

&) Effective September 8, 2005, the per diem is $56.25 for each day after a person in travel
status has been stationed at the same place for two consecutive months.

6) Effective October 1, 1999, the mileage rate is the amount allowed by the Internal Revenue
Code for income tax deductions. As of January 1, 2010, the rate allowed by the Internal
Revenue Code for business mileage is 50.0 cents per mile. If the normal rate of a
contractor is less than the allowable rate and the contract states a lesser rate, the lesser
approved rate shall be used.

) Claims for travel expense must be documented by reports containing the destination, date
and time of departure and return, and a computation of the amount of reimbursement. The
reports must be signed and dated by both the traveler and the person authorizing the
travel. Copies of the travel reports must accompany the invoices under which the travel
expense is claimed.

b. Out-of-State

Prior written approval from the Grantor is required for all out-of-state travel. Such
approval must be requested by the subrecipient at least 10 days prior to the planned travel,
by contacting the appropriate WIA agreement manager. Out-of-state travel expense for
room and meals shall be reimbursed at actual costs, when such costs reflect reasonable
rates. Room accommodations should be in the employee’s own name and any charges for
missed reservations shall be considered a personal expense. Air travel is booked for tourist
class. If first class is booked, proof of non-availability of tourist must be provided. A
sample out-of state travel reimbursement form is provided as a guide (see Exhibit K). This
form or a similar form should be used when requesting out-of-state travel reimbursement.

Receipts are required to be submitted with travel reimbursement claims to be maintained as
support documentation for the Subrecipient’s Invoice Report for all transportation, meal,
and hotel/motel lodging charges. These receipts must be from the
establishment/transportation company. Copies of credit charges cannot be accepted as
support documentation. The amounts paid as tips for food service, the transfer of baggage,

* Revised 01/10
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Wagner-Peyser Act, are not included in the administrative cost limit calculation. Each program’s
administrative activities are chargeable to its own grant and subject to its own administrative cost
limitations (20 CFR667.210 (d)).

National Reserve Account Grants

Limits on administrative costs for programs operated under Subtitle D of Title I will be identified
in the grant or contract award document (20 CFR667.210(b)).

F. TRANSFER AND INCENTIVE POLICY

Clarification/Transfer Policy

Before making any such transfer, a local board must obtain the Governor’s approval (20
CFR667.140(b)). All local workforce investment area requests for fund transfers will be
documented within each appropriately approved WIA Grant Agreement.

Employment and Training Administration
Workforce Investment Act
Fund Transfers
Clarification of Transfers

Note: Transfers apply only to funds to Local Workforce Investment Areas

Life of funds Adult Training Youth Training Dislocated Workers
State = 3 years* Up to 50% to No Transfer Allowed Up to 50% to Adult Employment
LWIA = 2 years* Dislocated Worker (S) & Training (S)

Authority. (S) Statutory-denotes WIA Section #: 133(b) (4) (See below)

* Funds have a three-year life for each allocation. Funds allocated to LWIAs have a two-year life after which
remaining funds are recaptured and reallocated to the State and/or to LWIAs in compliance with the two-year
LWIA spending limitation for expenditure during the remaining one-year life of the funds.

Ordinarily, transfer requests will be contained within the local workforce investment area initial
WIA Grant Agreement. Local workforce investment area transfer requests made subsequent to
initial annual Grant Agreement submission must be accompanied by narrative justification.
Transfers may be made anytime during the two-year life of the funds. Transfers may only be
made between the Adult and Dislocated Worker fund sources, and were limited to 20 percent of
the initially allocated funds for each source (WIA Section 133(b)(4)). The USDOL granted the
State approval of a waiver (effective November 2, 2009) to allow the State to approve local area
requests to transfer up to 50 percent of local area allocations between the Adult and Dislocated
Worker programs.

Incentive Awards

Section 134 (a)(2)(B)(iii) of the Act states that from funds made available under
Sections 127 (b)(1) and 132 (b)(1)) and (2) the Governor shall award incentive grants
*Revised 11/09
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on file with the State Office before requesting cash.

Each LWIA should follow the provisions under the Cash Management section of these guidelines
in minimizing daily cash balances and should plan to request cash daily, if necessary, to satisfy
these requirements.

Each LWIA should project and request cash soon enough to allow for the mailing of the request to
the State Office, processing time by the State Office, and mailing of the check back to the LWIA.

WIA Status of Funds Report and Cash Request Form (WDD32 — Revised November, 2008 - See
Exhibit E) must be used to request cash. When the LWIA’s annual allocation is from two or more
funding year appropriations, the LWIA must submit a separate WDD-32 for each year’s funds
(i.e., separate reports for PY99, PY00, FYOI, etc.) In addition, any Governor’s 15 percent funds
awarded to the LWIAs must be drawn down as Adult, Dislocated Worker, or Youth funds. An
original and one copy of each form, with original signatures, must be submitted to the State Office
in accordance with instruction on the back of the form.

The LWIA should telephone in its cash request to the State Office before 9:00 a.m. on the day the
cash request form is being prepared. The request should be mailed in a gold colored envelope as
early as possible on the day the telephone request is made.

The State Office will process the request for payment immediately upon receipt and will mail the
check to the LWIA in a green colored envelope.

The time lapse between the receipt of the written request by the State Office and the receipt of the
check by the LWIA is approximately four (4) work days.

Cash Transfers

a. Transfers between WIA Grant Agreements should be limited to a minimum, primarily to
transfer cash at the end of one grant into the next year’s grant. Transfers between funding
streams under the same grant should also be held to a minimum.

b. Items No. 5F-Total, and 6F-Total must reflect the same dollar amounts either positive or
negative. If one grant’s cash request form reflects a negative amount, another grant’s cash
request form must reflect an amount equal to or greater than the negative.

c. Excess cash drawn under one grant should be transferred to the next year’s grant within ten
(10) days following the submission of the final cost report.

H. PLANNING/BUDGETING

1.

Title I — Adult, Youth, and Dislocated Worker Funds

a.  Funds are appropriated by the Congress for use in a particular program year.
*Revised 11/08
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STATE OF ALABAMA

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE

OFFICE OF THE STATE COMPTROLLER
RSA UNION
100 North Union Street, Suite 220
Montgomery, Alabama 36130-2602
BOB RILEY Telephone (334) 242-7050
Governor FAX (334) 242-2440

MICHAEL G. HUDSON
BILL NEWTON Acting State Comptroller
Acting Director of Finance

December 7, 2009

MEMORANDUM

TO: All State Agencies
Chief Fiscal Officers
FROM: Michael G. Hudson M#"

Acting State Comptroller

SUBJECT: Travel — Mileage Rate

Effective January 1, 2010, the mileage rate paid to persons traveling in privately owned
vehicles on official business for the state will decrease to 50 cents per mile. The mileage rate,
which is paid in lieu of actual expenses for transportation, is in accordance with Code of
Alabama 1975, §36-7-22, as amended, which became effective October 1, 1999. This code
section sets the mileage rate at the amount allowed by the Internal Revenue Code for income tax
deductions. Therefore, mileage reimbursement for travel on or after January 1, 2010 will be
calculated at the new rate of 50 cents per mile.

When calculating the amount to be reimbursed, all mileage listed on an expense account
must be totaled and then multiplied by 50 cents (Example: 111 miles X .50 = $55.50). Should
you have any questions concerning this matter, please contact Kathleen Baxter at (334) 242-
4857, or Tucker Wilson at (334) 242-7057.

MGH: kdb



