ALABAMA WORKFORCE INVESTMENT SYSTEM

January 7, 2009

Office of Workforce Development
401 Adams Avenue
Post Office 5690
Montgomery, Alabama 36103-5690

GOVERNOR’S WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT DIRECTIVE NO. PY99-20, Change 14

SUBJECT:

1. Purpose.

2. Discussion.

3. Action.

4. Contact.

Statewide WIA Fiscal Procedures Manual

This Directive transmits revised pages for the July, 2000 edition of the
Goveror’s Statewide WIA Fiscal Procedures Manual.

Effective January 1, 2009, the mileage rate paid to persons traveling in
privately owned vehicles on official business for the state decreases to
55.0 cents per mile. A copy of the State Comptroller’s announcement is
attached for reference. This change necessitates a revision to the
Statewide WIA Fiscal Procedures Manual page VIII-5.

Also, the WIA Status of Funds Report and Cash Request Form, Exhibit E,
has been updated to more accurately reflect WIA funding streams at
Section 6 Cash Request.

Please replace the existing page VIII-5 and the Exhibit E page in the
Statewide WIA Fiscal Procedures Manual with the following revised

pages:

VIII-5 (Revised 01/09)
Exhibit E (Revised 11/08)

Any questions regarding this Directive should be referred to Bill Hornsby,
Supervisor, Workforce Development Division, State Programs and
Divisional Budget Management Section. (Telephone: (334) 242-5847 or
Email: bill.hornsby(@adeca.alabama.gov).

Attachments



If the normal rate of the subrecipient is less than the above-stated per day rates and the
WIA agreement states a lesser rate, the lesser rate approved shall be used.

The term overnight, as used in Code of Alabama 1975, §36-7-20, as amended, means
exactly what the word implies. The common law meaning of night usually means the
period between sunset and sunrise. Another rule often applied is that night is defined as
beginning thirty minutes after sunset and ending thirty minutes before sunrise. Individuals
whose work hours are during the night period are in work status and are not entitled to
overnight per diem. Employees within reasonable travel distance from their base are
expected to return to base. Individual circumstance will determine what is reasonable but,
generally, a trip of 100 miles or less one-way does not require an overnight stay.
Exceptions to the policy may be approved by the department director.

(&) Effective September 8, 2005, the per diem is $56.25 for each day after a person in travel
status has been stationed at the same place for two consecutive months.

6) Effective October 1, 1999, the mileage rate is the amount allowed by the Internal Revenue
Code for income tax deductions. As of January 1, 2009, the rate allowed by the Internal
Revenue Code for business mileage is 55.0 cents per mile. If the normal rate of a
contractor is less than the allowable rate and the contract states a lesser rate, the lesser
approved rate shall be used.

@) Claims for travel expense must be documented by reports containing the destination, date
and time of departure and return, and a computation of the amount of reimbursement. The
reports must be signed and dated by both the traveler and the person authorizing the
travel. Copies of the travel reports must accompany the invoices under which the travel
expense is claimed.

b. Out-of-State

Prior written approval from the Grantor is required for all out-of-state travel. Such
approval must be requested by the subrecipient at least 10 days prior to the planned travel,
by contacting the appropriate WIA agreement manager. Out-of-state travel expense for
room and meals shall be reimbursed at actual costs, when such costs reflect reasonable
rates. Room accommodations should be in the employee’s own name and any charges for
missed reservations shall be considered a personal expense. Air travel is booked for tourist
class. If first class is booked, proof of non-availability of tourist must be provided. A
sample out-of state travel reimbursement form is provided as a guide (see Exhibit K). This
form or a similar form should be used when requesting out-of-state travel reimbursement.

Receipts are required to be submitted with travel reimbursement claims to be maintained as
support documentation for the Subrecipient’s Invoice Report for all transportation, meal,
and hotel/motel lodging charges. These receipts must be from the
establishment/transportation company. Copies of credit charges cannot be accepted as
support documentation. The amounts paid as tips for food service, the transfer of baggage,

* Revised 01/09
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STATE OF ALABAMA

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE

OFFICE OF THE STATE COMPTROLLER
RSA UNION
100 North Union Street, Suite 220
Montgomery, Alabama 36130-2602
BOB RILEY Telephone (334) 242-7050
Governor FAX (334) 242-2440

ROBERT L. CHILDREE
JAMES ALLEN MAIN State Comptroller
Director of Finance

November 25, 2008

MEMORANDUM

TO: All State Agencies
Chief Fiscal Officers

FROM: Robert L. Childree
State Comptroller

SUBJECT: Travel — Mileage Rate

Effective January 1, 2009, the mileage rate paid to persons traveling in privately owned
vehicles on official business for the state will decrease to 55 cents per mile. The mileage rate,
which is paid in lieu of actual expenses for transportation, is in accordance with Code of
Alabama 1975, §36-7-22, as amended, which became effective October 1, 1999. This code
section sets the mileage rate at the amount allowed by the Internal Revenue Code for income tax
deductions. Therefore, mileage reimbursement for travel on or after January 1, 2009 will be
calculated at the new rate of 55 cents per mile.

When calculating the amount to be reimbursed, all mileage listed on an expense account
must be totaled and then multiplied by 55 cents (Example: 111 miles X .55 = $61.05). Should
you have any questions concerning this matter, please contact Kathleen Baxter at (334) 242-
4857, or Tucker Wilson at (334) 242-7057.

RLC: kdb



WIA EXHIBITE
STATUS OF FUNDS REPORT
and
CASH REQUEST FORM GRANT NO.

1. DOCUMENT NO. 2a. DATE 2b. FUNDING YEAR
3. GRANTOR AGENCY NAME AND ADDRESS 4. SUBRECIPIENT NAME AND ADDRESS

ADECA-Workforce Development Division

401 Adams Avenue

P.O. Box 5690

Montgomery, Alabama 36103-5680
5. STATUS OF FUNDS |

AMOUNTS

A. ADVANCES RECEIVED, CUMULATIVE GRANT TO DATE 0.00
B. LESS: ACTUAL DISBURSEMENTS, CUMULATIVE GRANT TO DATE 0.00
C. WIA FUNDS ON HAND AT TIME OF THIS REQUEST 0.00
D. PROGRAM INCOME ON HAND 0.00
E. TOTAL CASH ON HAND 0.00
F. AMOUNT OF THIS REQUEST FOR PAYMENT 0.00
G. UNPAID REQUEST FOR PAYMENT PREVIOUSLY SUBMITTED 0.00
H. TOTALS 0.00
6. CASH REQUEST |
WIA FUNDING STREAM: ADMINISTRATION PROGRAM TOTALS
A. ADULT FUNDS 0.00 0.00 0.00
B. ADULT FUNDS TRANSFERRED FROM DISLOCATED WORKER 0.00 0.00
C. DISLOCATED WORKER FUNDS 0.00 0.00 0.00
D. DISLOCATED WORKER FUNDS TRANSFERRED FROM ADULT 0.00 0.00
E. YOUTH FUNDS 0.00 0.00 0.00
F. ADULT SW 15% INCENTIVE FUNDS 0.00 0.00 0.00
G. D/W SW 15% INCENTIVE FUNDS 0.00 0.00 0.00
H. YOUTH SW 15% INCENTIVE FUNDS 0.00 0.00 0.00
. RAPID RESPONSE SW FUNDS 0.00 0.00
J. TOTAL CASH REQUESTED 0.00 0.00 0.00
7. PROGRAM INCOME RECEIVED (Cumulative grant to date.) 0.00 0.00 0.00

8. CERTIFICATION: | certify that this request for payment has been drawn in accordance with the terms and conditions of the
Statewide WIA Fiscal Procedures Manual. |also certify that data reported above is correct and the amount of this request

for payment is not in excess of the actual immediate cash requirements of the subrecipient.

(USE BLUE INK TO SIGN BELOW)

DATE SIGNATURE(S)

TITLE

DATE

Approved, State Programs Approved, Admin. Div./WDD Accounting Unit

WDD-32 REV. 11/08 VOUCHER NO.

WARRANT NO.

DATE




Instructions for Completing Status of Funds Report and Cash Request Form WDD-32
Revised November, 2008

GRANT NO. : Enter the grant number this cash request is for.

Document No.: Enter the number of this cash request. The first request for each Grant must begin with
number one (1) and continue in sequence until the Grant ends and is closed out.

Date: Enter the date the request is prepared. Enter the program vyear or fiscal year funds being drawn down
on this request.

Grantor Agency Name and Address: Provided, no entry necessary.

Subrecipient Name and Address: Enter the name and address of the subrecipient. The name should reflect
the payee of the check.

Status of Funds: A separate WDD-32 must be completed for each WIA grant. Show only the figures that are
applicable to the grant number referenced on the form.

A. Enter the cumulative cash received for this grant. Do not include program income.

B. Enter the cumulative cash disbursed for this grant. Do not include program income.

C. Subtract line B from line A and enter WIA funds on hand.

D. Enter program income on hand.

E. Add lines C and D and enter total cash on hand.

F. Enter the amount of this request. Amount must agree with the amount shown on line 6. J.

G. Enter the amounts of unpaid requests. This includes all requests for payment submitted to the State
Office but not received by the subrecipient.

H. Add lines, E, F, and G and enter totals.
Cash Request:

WIA FUNDING STREAMS:

A Adult Funds

Adult Funds transferred from Dislocated Worker
Dislocated Worker Funds

Dislocated Worker Funds transferred from Aduilt
Youth Funds

Adult SW 15% Incentive Funds

D/W SW 15% Incentive Funds

Youth SW 15% Incentive Funds

Rapid Response SW Funds

Total cash Requested

C-IEMMUOW

A-l Enter the amount being requested for administration and program from each of the above
referenced funding streams.

Add lines A through | and enter the total on line J.

Enter the cumulative program income received to date for this grant.
Certification:

Date: Enter the date request is signed by the subrecipient official.

Signatures: Subrecipient official(s) must sign in accordance with Authorized Signature Card, Form WDD 6.
Document must be signed using BLUE INK.

NOTE: DO NOT USE LIQUID PAPER OR STRIKEOVERS IN CORRECTING FUND AMOUNTS,

Submit two typed copies with original signatures to the address shown in item number 3 above.



